Muay Thai For Life 2.0

Previous Event MTFL 2.0

Muay Thai For Life 2.0

  • Date: March 5 2022

  • Venue: Partille Arena, Gothenburg, Sweden

  • Live on: FITE.tv

Following a successful debut, the Muay Thai For Life Series returned in the coming spring with MTFL 2.0. The event was held in Partille Arena in Gothenburg, Sweden on March 5 – this time with a massive improvement in production value and arguably an even more stacked fight card.


The event was headlined by a super fight between two of Sweden’s most accomplished Muay Thai fighters as decorated champions Adel Ekvall and Otabek Ergashev squared off in the ring. Ekvall – a former Swedish, Nordic and European champion – had a tough start to the fight and famously almost knocked himself out as he attempted to land a cartwheel kick in the first round, which quickly went viral on social media.


However, incredibly enough, Ekvall came back stronger in rounds two and three and outpointed the former IFMA world champion and WBC Scandinavian champion Ergashev as they went to distance. Ekvall won the fight by unanimous decision and was also awarded a performance bonus for his effort.


In the co-main event of the evening, the reigning Swedish champion Jonathan Larsson returned to the MTFL ring to defeat former European champion Jack Cooper by unanimous decision in a middleweight contest. At the time, Cooper was ranked at No. 1 in the United Kingdom and No 18 in the WBC world Muay Thai rankings.


MTFL 2.0 also featured a lightweight matchup where former Swedish champion Sam Ghoroghi took on experienced thai fighter Fluck in just his second-ever professional fight. Despite the fight being somewhat of a mismatch on paper, Ghoroghi rose to the occasion with crisp and accurate striking, cutting up his opponent with nasty elbows en route to a decision victory. Ghoroghi was later awarded the second performance bonus of the night.


UFC fighter Pannie Kianzad was in attendance at MTFL 2.0 and served as the jury, picking performance bonus winners alongside event sponsor Förebygg.se. Each bonus winner was awarded a check of 5,000 SEK.


MTFL 2.0 Official Results

  • Adel Ekvall def. Otabek Ergashev by unanimous decision

  • Jonathan Larsson def. Jack Cooper by unanimous decision

  • Freddy Castro Gonzalez def. Nasim Kazem by split decision

  • Emma Stonegård def. Anna Rantanen by split decision

  • Robin Sundlöf def. Dat Hoang by TKO (shoulder injury) – round 1

  • Sam Ghoroghi def. Fluck by unanimous decision

  • Johanna Hermansen def. Madeleine Sangthong by split decision

  • Mehmet Kaya def. Joakim Nyberg by majority decision

  • Leo Eshagi def. Jonathan Hammar by unanimous decision

Leave a comment